Call for paid service +44 (0)344-991-9222

UK immigration provision for MBA graduates

Support migrant centric journalism today and donate

The UK Government is launching in April 2005 its new provision for graduates of the top 50 business schools (below) to work in the UK for up to 12 months upon completion of their MBAs. This provision is part of the Highly Skilled Migrant Programme (HSMP), although the government has not yet clarified how the HSMP and the MBA provision are related.

The HSMP is designed to attract highly skilled individuals who wish to work in the UK. The MBA provision is designed to attract highly qualified and talented managers to the UK. It differs from other schemes because participants need neither a specific job offer in the UK, nor a detailed business plan.

The list of 50 institutions contains 10 UK institutions and 40 from the rest of the world. The inclusion of a quota of 10 UK institutions reflects the fact that students choosing to study in the UK have already shown a commitment to that country and have begun to integrate in the UK, making it easier for them to continue their career there.

Individuals who graduate from one of the eligible MBA programmes at the time it is on the list will be eligible to apply for the MBA provision. Successful applicants will be awarded the minimum number of points necessary to qualify under HSMP, but will still need to meet the remaining requirements of the programme. These requirements have not yet been announced. Check this site frequently for the latest updates on the remaining requirements for the MBA programme.

The list of schools, which will be updated annually, currently includes:

  • Harvard Business School (USA)
  • Columbia Business School (USA)
  • University of Pennsylvania: Wharton (USA)
  • IMD (SWI)
  • University of Chicago (USA)
  • Dartmouth College: Tuck (USA)
  • Stanford University (USA)
  • Insead (FR/Sing)
  • University of Oxford: Said (UK)
  • MIT: Sloan (USA)
  • Ashridge (UK)
  • North Western: Kellogg (USA)
  • London Business School (UK)
  • New York University: Stern (US)
  • University of Strathclyde (UK)
  • IESE Business School (SP)
  • Yale School of Management (USA)
  • Warwick Business School (UK)
  • City University: Cass (UK)
  • Rotterdam School of Management (Neth)
  • UC Berkeley: Haas (USA)
  • University of Cambridge: Judge (UK)
  • Georgetown University: McDonough (USA)
  • Instituto de Empresa (SP)
  • Cornell University: Johnson (USA)
  • University of Michigan (USA)
  • Duke University: Fuqua (USA)
  • University of Virginia: Darden (USA)
  • Carnegie Mellon University (USA)
  • SDA Bocconi (IT)
  • Emory University: Goizueta (USA)
  • UCLA: Anderson (USA)
  • Manchester Business School (UK)
  • Cranfield School of Management (UK)
  • University of Toronto: Rotman (CAN)
  • University College Dublin: Smurfit (IRE)
  • University of Southern California: Marshall (USA)
  • University of Rochester: Simon (USA)
  • Vanderbilt University: Owen (USA)
  • Rice University: Jones (USA)
  • University of North Carolina: Kenan-Flagler (USA)
  • Babson College: Olin (USA)
  • Melbourne Business School (AUS)
  • Ceibs (CHN)
  • Australian Graduate School of Management (AUS)
  • Universiteit Nyenrode (NTH)
  • University of Western Ontario: Ivey (CAN)
  • Boston University School of Management (USA)
  • University of Maryland: Smith (USA)
  • Bradford School of Management/Nimbas (UK/NTH/GER)