Call for paid service +44 (0)344-991-9222

UK Tier 1 Visa Further Changes - Act Now!

Support migrant centric journalism today and donate

UK Immigration has said that they will be reviewing the salary multipliers used to convert past earnings from overseas to the equivalent UK earnings to calculate points for UK Tier 1 visas. The review had not been completed by 6 April 2010 which was the date that the latest changes came into effect and when the next UK General Election was announced. It is not certain exactly when the review will be completed and whether the current UK Government will have time to make any changes by the next General Election on 6 May 2010.

On 6 April 2010 a number of changes took place including an increase in the past earnings requirements to gain points under the Tier 1 visa scheme. One change that was beneficial to many people is that you can now gain points for having a Bachelors degree. Previously, you could only gain points if you had a Masters Degree or equivalent. If there is a new Conservative Government in May 2010 it is possible that that this will change again and you will again need to have a Masters Degree to come under the Tier 1 visa.

If you wish to apply for a Tier 1 visa and depend on overseas earnings to gain points you should consider applying now rather than later. Currently the salary multipliers for people applying with past earnings from Countries such as India, Pakistan and Bangladesh and many other Countries are at 5.3. It is likely that this will change in future and those depending on past earnings from many Countries around the World will need to have a far higher overseas salary to gain enough points to come under the Tier 1 visa scheme.

After 13 years in Government opinion polls suggest that the governing Labour party is likely to lose the General Election on 6 May 2010. It is also seems from the opinion polls that the Conservative Party will win. The Conservative Party has promised to be tougher on immigration. For example, they say that if they form the next Government they will significantly reduce levels of immigration and have an immigration quota.

You will see the current salary multipliers below:

Country bands

Band A - Country or territory in which money was earned

Andorra; Aruba; Australia; Austria; Belgium; Bermuda; Canada; Cayman Islands; Channel Islands; Denmark; Finland; France; French Polynesia; Germany; Gibraltar; Guam; Hong Kong (Special Administrative Region of China); Iceland; Ireland; Italy; Japan; Kuwait; Liechtenstein; Luxembourg; Monaco; Netherlands; Norway; Qatar; San Marino; Singapore; Sweden; Switzerland; United Arab Emirates; United Kingdom; United States of America; Vatican.

Multiplier = 1

Band B - Country or territory in which money was earned

American Samoa; Antigua and Barbuda; Argentina; The Bahamas; Bahrain; Barbados; Botswana, Brunei; Chile; Costa Rica; Croatia; Cyprus; Czech Republic, Estonia; Faroe Islands; Greece; Greenland; Grenada; Hungary; Israel; Korea (South); Latvia; Lebanon; Libya; Macao (Special Administrative Region of China); Malaysia, Malta; Mauritius; Mexico, Netherlands Antilles; New Caledonia; New Zealand; Northern Mariana Islands; Oman; Palau; Panama; Poland; Portugal; Puerto Rico; Saudi Arabia; Seychelles; Slovak Republic; Slovenia; Spain; St Kitts and Nevis; St Lucia; Taiwan; Trinidad and Tobago; Uruguay; Venezuela; Virgin Islands.

Multiplier = 2.3

Band C - Country or territory in which money was earned

Albania; Algeria; Belarus; Belize; Bolivia; Bosnia and Herzegovina; Brazil; Bulgaria; Cape Verde; China (Peoples Republic of China); Colombia; Dominica; Dominican Republic; Ecuador; Egypt; El Salvador; Fiji, Gabon; Guatemala; Honduras; Iran; Jamaica; Jordan; Kazakhstan; Lithuania; Macedonia; Maldives; Marshall Islands; Micronesia; Morocco; Namibia; Nauru; Paraguay; Peru; Philippines; Romania; Russian Federation; Samoa; South Africa; St Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname; Swaziland; Syria; Thailand; Tonga; Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan; Vanuatu; West Bank and Gaza.

Multiplier = 3.2

Band D - Country or territory in which money was earned

Angola; Armenia, Azerbaijan; Bangladesh, Benin; Bhutan; Burma; Cameroon; Comoros; Congo (Republic of); Cuba; Djibouti; East Timor; Equatorial Guinea; Gambia; Georgia, Guinea, Guyana; Haiti; India; Indonesia; Iraq; Ivory Coast; Kenya; Kiribati; Kosovo; Lesotho; Mauritania; Moldova; Mongolia; Montenegro; Nicaragua; Pakistan; Papua New Guinea; Senegal; Serbia; Solomon Islands; Sri Lanka; Sudan; Ukraine; Uzbekistan; Vietnam; Yemen; Zambia; Zimbabwe.

Multiplier = 5.3

Band E - Country or territory in which money was earned

Afghanistan; Burkina Faso; Burundi; Cambodia; Central African Republic; Congo (Democratic Republic of); Chad; Eritrea; Ethiopia; Ghana; Guinea-Bissau; Korea (North); Kyrgyzstan; Laos; Liberia; Madagascar; Malawi; Mali; Mayotte; Mozambique; Nepal; Niger; Nigeria; Rwanda; Sao Tome and Principe; Sierra Leone; Somalia; Tajikistan; Tanzania; Togo; Uganda.

Multiplier = 11.4

Politics Comoros Maldives Conservative Party Rwanda Mauritius Nepal Tonga Ecuador Grenada Greenland Venezuela Marshall Islands Andorra Bahrain Estonia Labour Party Guatemala Cyprus East Timor Equatorial Guinea Nauru Namibia Lesotho Norway Thailand Kenya Bosnia and Herzegovina Pakistan Afghanistan Malawi Brazil Suriname Guyana Aruba Dominican Republic Burkina Faso Moldova Liechtenstein Liberia United Kingdom China Israel Conservative government Finland Costa Rica Somalia Denmark West Bank Italy Central African Republic Benin French Polynesia Oman Tunisia Kyrgyzstan Mexico Mozambique Kuwait Gabon Chile Sudan Fiji Kazakhstan Qatar Congo Guinea Sri Lanka Malaysia Uzbekistan Syria U.S. Virgin Islands Paraguay Nigeria Georgia Madagascar Morocco Seychelles Ghana Belize Argentina Papua New Guinea Bolivia Luxembourg Spain Antigua and Barbuda Monaco Bhutan Mayotte Ivory Coast Switzerland Puerto Rico Senegal Yemen Hungary Nicaragua Turkmenistan Uruguay Kosovo Niger Netherlands Sierra Leone Myanmar Mongolia Bahamas Gibraltar Burundi Bulgaria Cambodia Tajikistan Macedonia Latvia South Africa Peru Honduras Montenegro Egypt Cuba Colombia Bermuda Cape Verde France Cayman Islands Japan Mauritania Uganda Panama Vanuatu Iceland Canada Guinea-Bissau Australia Portugal Tanzania Slovakia Korea Botswana Malta Philippines Lithuania Ethiopia New Caledonia Trinidad and Tobago Iraq India Eritrea Cameroon Taiwan Belarus Germany American Samoa Faroe Islands Romania Barbados Zambia Saudi Arabia Micronesia Guam Croatia Kiribati Haiti Solomon Islands UK government Slovenia Algeria Bangladesh Laos Albania Serbia Armenia Iran Sweden United Arab Emirates New Zealand Dominica Brunei Swaziland Libya Poland Zimbabwe Mali Gambia Indonesia Sao Tome and Principe Belgium Turkey Russia Azerbaijan Jordan El Salvador Austria United States Angola Vietnam Gaza Togo Chad Djibouti Singapore Jamaica Netherlands Antilles Ukraine Lebanon Greece Palau Ireland Czech Republic Labor