New Zealand - Visa waivers for new EU states

Support migrant centric journalism today and donate

Prime Minister Helen Clark announced Dec. 27 that New Zealand isextending visa-free arrangements to six new European Union memberstates, whose citizens have until now required tourist visas to visitNew Zealand.

The waiver of tourist visa requirements willapply to travelers from Poland, Cyprus, Slovakia, Lithuania, Latvia,and Estonia, as of 1 April 2005.

"The decision means thatcitizens from all 25 EU states, including the six who have just beengranted the waiver, will now have visa-free status. This completes thereciprocity of visa arrangements already in place for New Zealanderstravelling to all members of the EU," said Helen Clark.

"New Zealand is only the second western country, after Japan, to grant visa waivers to all 25 EU member states."

"Granting visa free status reduces barriers to travel to New Zealandand enhances potential benefits from tourism, trade, and bilateralrelations. New Zealand offers visa free status to more than 50countries, and this contributes significantly to the economy."

"As the economies of the new EU member states grow, these countries areexpected to provide useful markets for New Zealand goods and services.The new members will also have influence on EU decision-making in areasthat affect New Zealand directly, such as trade policy." said HelenClark.

For more information about work permits in New Zealand, please read our New Zealand pages.