Britain Gives Full Citizenship to Nationals of Dependant Territories

The 14 British Dependant Territories have been re-named British Overseas Territories, and their citizens have been given the right to become full British Citizens with the right to live and work in the UK and EU.

The territories concerned are:

Anguilla, Bermuda, the British Antartic Territory, the British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands, Gibraltar, Montserrat, Pitcairn Island, St Helena and dependencies, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands, the Turks and Caicos Islands.

Acceptance of British Citizenship is voluntary, but even those who choose not accept British Citizenship will be able to enter the UK without being subject to immigration controls.