Regional Australia - Low Population Growth Metropolitan Areas

Section Menu

show hide

This page lists regional areas as well as postal codes for "regional Australia" or a "low population growth metropolitan areas". The list is used for the following situations:

  • Under the General Skilled Migration program (GSM), it is possible to score points for the "regional Australia" part of the points test if an applicant has lived in one or more of these areas and has studied full time at a campus located in regional Australia or a low population growth metropolitan area for at least 2 years prior to submitting the application. The applicant must demonstrate that he or she has studied at a campus located in one of the regional/low population growth metropolitan postal codes shown below.
  • If an applicant applies for a Skilled - Regional Sponsored visa and he or she is being sponsored by a participating State or Territory government, the applicant will be required to sign a form stating that he or she, and any secondary applicants included in their application, will live, work, or study in a regional or a low population growth metropolitan area in Australia, starting at the time the provisional visa was granted for the duration of the visa, or until such time as the applicant is able to obtain sponsorship for permanent residence.
  • For the purposes of the State/Territory Sponsored Business owner visa (subclass 892) an applicant may be eligible for a waiver of the requirement for the business to have had an annual turnover of at least $200,000 if both the applicant's business and residence is located in one or more of these areas. To be eligible for a waiver of the annual turnover requirement the applicant must meet two of the three thresholds related to net business assets, net personal and business assets and/or provided employment.
Regional Australia - Low Population Growth Metropolitan AreasPostal Codes (inclusive)

New South Wales 
(except Sydney, Newcastle, the Central Coast and Wollongong)

2311 to 2312 
2328 to 2411 
2420 to 2490 
2536 to 2551 
2575 to 2594 
2618 to 2739 
2787 to 2898

(except the greater Brisbane area and the Gold Coast)

4124 to 4125 
4270 to 4272 
4307 to 4499 
4517 to 4519 
4522 to 4899

(except Melbourne metropolitan area)

3211 to 3334 
3340 to 3424 
3430 to 3649 
3658 to 3749 
3778 to 3781 
3810 to 3909 
3921 to 3925 
3945 to 3974 
3981 to 3996

Western Australia 
(except Perth and surrounding areas)

6041 to 6044 
6083 to 6084 
6121 to 6126 
6200 to 6799

South AustraliaEntire State
TasmaniaEntire State
Northern TerritoryEntire Territory